
RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Office of Financial Institutions 

Louisiana Money Transmitters  
(LAC 10:XV.1101-1103) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, as provided under R.S. 6:126(A), and as 
authorized by R.S. 6:1038.1; and 6:1054, the Commissioner 
of the Office of Financial Institutions promulgates a Rule to 
provide for the administration and regulatory oversight of 
the Louisiana Sale of Checks and Money Transmission Act 
[R.S. 6:1031 et seq.]. The Rule establishes fees to cover 
anticipated regulatory costs. 

Title 10 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS, CONSUMER CREDIT, 

INVESTMENT SECURITIES AND UCC 
Part XV.  Other Regulated Institutions 

Chapter 11. Money Transmitters 
§1101. Examinations and Visitations 

A. Each individual, partnership, association, or 
corporation that is licensed to sell checks or money orders in 
Louisiana shall pay the following fees and charges to the 
Office of Financial Institutions for examinations and 
visitations by the Office of Financial Institutions, whether 
conducted solely by the Office of Financial Institutions or 
jointly with the regulator of such activity in other 
jurisdictions and whether conducted in Louisiana or at the 
licensee's offices outside Louisiana: 

1. $50 per hour for each examiner who participates in 
the examination or visitation; 

2. the actual cost of subsistence, lodging, and 
transportation for out-of-state examinations, not to exceed 
the amounts provided for in Division of Administration 
travel regulations in force at the time of such examination or 
visitation. 

B. Pursuant to the authority granted under R.S. 6:121; 
6:1038.1; and 6:1054, the following fee structure is hereby 
established to cover necessary costs associated with the 
administration of the Louisiana Sale of Checks and Money 
Transmission Act, R.S. 6:1031 et seq. 

 
Description Fee 

Application for a temporary license. $300 
Application for the change in control of a licensee. $200 

 
C. The fees, charges, and expenses shall be paid by the 

examined licensee within 30 days after the Office of 
Financial Institutions mails its bill. Failure to pay within the 
allowed time shall be a basis for initiating proceedings to 
suspend the license, or the imposition of a penalty 
assessment of $50 for each day the fees, charges, and 
expenses remain unpaid, or both. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
6:121(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
18:144 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Office of Financial Institutions, LR 35:1237 (July 2009). 
§1103. Statement of Anticipated Costs and Proceeds 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:121 (B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
18:144 (February 1992), repealed by the Office of the Governor, 
Office of Financial Institutions, LR 35:1237 (July 2009). 

 
John Ducrest, CPA 
Commissioner 


