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 Enclosed is the notification form to be filed with the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions by persons engaged in making consumer credit sales, by persons who assign retail 
installment contracts to licensed lenders, and by all persons who take assignments of and 
undertake direct collection of payments from or enforcement of rights against debtors arising 
from these sales.  Filing of this notification is not required by Louisiana licensed lenders or by 
any person whose only act of extending credit is the making of a sale to a consumer by honoring 
a credit card issued by a supervised financial organization subject to regulation, supervision, or 
auditing by any state or federal agency, and where such seller receives payment for the sale from 
the recourse against the buyer in the event of a non-payment of the account.  These forms must 
be filed in compliance with the Louisiana Consumer Credit Law (“LCCL”), particularly, LSA-
R.S. 9:3563 et seq. 
 
 This notification form must be completed and returned within 30 days after commencing 
business in this state, and file annually a renewal no later than April 1 of each calendar year 
thereafter with a check for the fees, as outlined in the attached documentation.  A person may be 
subject to penalties pursuant to LSA-R.S. 9:3554.1(F).  A person shall not be authorized to 
engage in the activities regulated by LSA-R.S. 9:3563-3565 unless such person has complied 
with the notification provisions and notification filing has not been suspended or revoked by the 
commissioner.  If information in the notification becomes inaccurate after filing, the filer shall 
correct the inaccurate information within 60 days by written notice to the commissioner. 
 

If you have any questions, please contact our Consumer Credit Division of the Office of 
Financial Institutions at (225) 922-0638. 
 

Sincerely, 
 
 
 

John Ducrest, CPA 
Commissioner of Financial Institutions 

 
SPJ: RFB:dg  

 
 
 
     



     FILING INSTRUCTIONS 
 
Include your check or money order payable to the Office of Financial Institutions. 
 
The term "person" as defined in the LCCL and used herein means an individual or corporation, partnership, 
trust, association, joint venture pool, syndicate, sole proprietorship, unincorporated organization, or any other 
form of entity not specifically listed herein. 
 
Consumer Credit Sales -  Every retailer who regularly engages in the business of selling goods or services to 
persons other than organizations, for their personal, family, or household purposes who charges a credit service 
(finance) charge or whose retail installment agreement contains a credit service (finance) charge, must file and 
pay the notification fee annually. 
 
Consumer Credit Assignees - Persons who take assignment of and undertake direct collection of payments from 
or enforce the rights against debtors arising from Louisiana consumer credit sales or Louisiana consumer loans 
made by others  must pay a $75 notification fee, whether or not they have an office in Louisiana. 
 
The following activities require notification filing: 
 

Accepting an application for credit in connection with a consumer credit sale, and 
delivering or calling in the application to a lender resulting in the extension of 
credit through the signing of a retail installment contract.  These types of retailers 
must file regardless of whether or not they receive a fee from the lender for 
processing the credit sale. 
 
Charging finance charges or recurring late fees on accounts receivable arising out 
of a consumer credit sale. 
 
Taking assignments of consumer credit transactions originating in Louisiana while 
maintaining no location in Louisiana. 
 
Originating consumer loans with Louisiana consumers from a location outside the 
State of Louisiana. 
 

Each branch or location of a business shall be considered as a separate entity.  Notification applications shall be 
filed for each entity at that entity's address (location). 
 
Notification Fees- 
New Licensees pay $75.   
 
Renewal Fees-  
Consumer Credit Assignees – pay $75 
Consumer Credit Sales - preceding calendar year credit sales total of: 
 
   (A) Not more than $500,000 pay $75   (C) $1,000,001 up to $2,000,000 pay $375 
 
   (B) $500,001 up to $1,000,000 pay $150   (D) $2,000,001 or greater pay $750. 
 

If you are unsure about whether you should apply, please contact the  
Consumer Credit Division for clarification of your filing status at (225) 922-0638. 



 

NOTIFICATION REGISTRATION FORM 
CONSUMER CREDIT SALES 

State of Louisiana 
Office of Financial Institutions 

(225) 925-4660 
 

P.O. Box 94095                                                                                         8660 United Plaza Blvd., 2nd Floor 
Baton Rouge, LA  70804-9095                                                                Baton Rouge, LA  70809-7024         
          
 
If you make consumer credit sales, assign loan contracts to licensed lenders, or take assignments of and collect payments on such 
sales or loans (whether or not you maintain an office in Louisiana), you are required to file notification and pay the notification 
fee within 30 days after commencing business in Louisiana and file annually a renewal no later than April 1 of each year 
thereafter. 
           
          * A SEPARATE NOTIFICATION FORM MUST BE FILED FOR EACH PLACE OF BUSINESS.*  
 1. Full legal name of  person or company: (must be registered with the Secretary of State, unless a sole proprietor) 

 
 

 2. Trade name or d/b/a: 
 
 

 3. Physical Address: 
  

City: 
 

State: Zip Code:           Parish: 

 4. Mailing address (street or post office box): 
 
 
City: 
 

State: Zip Code: 
 

 5. Business phone number: Business fax number: 
 
 

 6. Business contact person:  

7. Business contact person’s email address: 

 8. List the address of each office or retail store in Louisiana, if any, at which consumer credit sales are made: 
 
______________________________________________________________________________  
 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

9. Registered agent for service of legal process or the person authorized to receive legal documents. (must be located in 
state)  This should be the same as filed with the Louisiana Secretary of State. 
 
Name: 
 
Address: 
 
City: 
 

State: 
 

Zip: Phone Number: 



10. Do you charge interest or assess a fee on open accounts?  Yes (____)    No (____) 
 If “Yes”, please provide a copy of your agreement that shows the fee, percentage 
or amount of interest charged to the consumer. 

11.  Do you keep retail installment contracts and collect payments on those contracts?  Yes (____)    No (____) 
If “Yes”, please include a copy of your retail installment contract. 
 

12. Do you assign your retail installment contracts, subject to the Louisiana Consumer Credit Law, to licensed           
lenders, banks, thrifts or others?  Yes  (____)    No  (____) 
 
If “Yes”, list the names and addresses of the persons to whom you make such 
assignments: 
 
 Name                                                                                        Address 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
If “NO”, Note:  Persons who make consumer credit sales and do not transfer and assign their agreements to a 
supervised financial organization or licensed lender with 35 days as provided by LSA-R.S. 9:3521, shall comply with the 
Records Retention Rule for licensed lenders, and shall promptly notify the Commissioner that such person is collecting 
or otherwise enforcing Louisiana consumer credit sales agreements or consumer loans.  The completion of the 
information requested in #8 (b) above shall suffice as the required notice by assignors. 

13. If “Yes” to questions 10,  11 or 12  please provide a description of products or 
services offered to consumers: 
 
 
 
 
 

14. Do you purchase consumer loans or retail installment contracts subject to the Louisiana Consumer Credit Law? 
 
Yes (____)  No  (____) 

 If you checked “NO” to questions 10, 11, 12 and 14 above please call 225-922-0638 
before submitting this application.  

If you did not check yes at least once you may not be required to file. 
 
  

 
I hereby certify that the information provided above is true and correct. 
 
 
 
Signature: _________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 
                  __________________________________________________________________________ 
                       Print name and Company position of authorized person completing and signing this form. 
 
                   

 
Revised 1/25/12 


